Watercolors and Metalwork

Friday,  October 5, 5-7pm

Another First Friday Art Show at Wired Coffehouse,

111 N W 4th Street, Downtown Evansville

Featuring: Watercolors and Metalwork

By Jane Case Vickers

Oct. 5th – 28

Stop in for refreshments and take a look at the art.

###

 

Artist Statement

When I was a young art student working in the fibers department at Edwardsville, I felt what I created needed to be powerful, making a loud statement.  I would create large, museum sized pieces about important topics, striving to make my mark.  That was then.  Now, nearing 50, I just like to make things.

 

Two areas I enjoy working in are enamels and watercolors. In enameling -powdered glass enamels on are used with copper and steel. Heat of nearly 1500 degrees is used to melt the glass and adhere it to the metal.  In watercolor, I find the pigment, water and paper combine in interesting ways.  I have found the way I work in both processes there is a large amount of serendipity when you see how the elements come together.

 

I am fascinated by skies and plants and things I find.  The Creator’s variety and attention to detail deeply marvels me and I appreciate the way exploring new media has opened my eyes in new ways.  I hope you enjoy my art work.

 

Leave a Reply

